Daubenton kale

I got some seeds of daubenton kale from a seed swap. It says somewhere on the internet that it doesn’t make seeds, so I was a bit sceptical of what it was.
However it does appear to be a long living kale. A couple of branches did flower last year and rather than cut them off I let them. The honey bees loved them, and the flowers turned into seed pods and I harvested the seeds. The plant that flowered now has plenty of green leaves still – other branches kept providing leaves.
It’s a really mild, delicious kale. One of the nicest I’ve eaten.
I have netted it to stop the pigeons eating it all.

This is one I transplanted in the autumn.

2016-12-31 14.17.19.jpg

Leave a Reply

